The Burgate School & Sixth Form Centre

Top menu

Main Menu

You are here: Home » Contact » Key Staff at The Burgate School

Key Staff at The Burgate School

Upcoming Events

  • INSET Day School closed to students
    2 Sep
  • Autumn Term begins for Year 7 and Year 11 Prefects
    3 Sep
  • Year 12 enrolment
    3 Sep
  • Year 13 enrolment
    3 Sep
  • Autmn Term begins for all students
    4 Sep

Who's Who at The Burgate School


Email address

Headteacher - Mr D Pover

Deputy Headteacher (Academic) - Mrs K Gibson

Assistant Headteacher (Transition) - Mr B Clemson

Assistant Headteacher (Student Welfare) – Mrs H Shering

Business Manager – Mrs F Wilcox

Associate Assistant Headteacher Teaching & Learning - Mr R Hollowbread

Lead Practitioner Teaching & Learning - Mrs E Strike

Head of Year 7 - Ms L Mann

Head of Year 8 - Miss L Ewan

Head of Year 9 - Mrs G Newson Smith / Mrs D Garrett

Head of Year 10 - Mr J McKay

Head of Year 11 - Mr J Barfoot

Head of Sixth Form - Mrs S Fenner

Sixth Form Admin Office - Mrs L Williamson, Mrs A Baker

Coordinator of Special Educational Needs - Mr P Brennan

Who to contact for subject specific information:




Art Design and Photography

Mrs S Firino


Dr M Graeble

Business Studies

Mr A Billinghurst-Bright


Mr J Whitehead

Computing and ICT

Mr M Cheshire

Drama & Theatre Studies

Mrs R Mutimer


Mr A Billinghurst-Bright


Mrs C Smith


Mr O Rees

Government & Politics

Mrs E Oldfield


Miss J Stephens


Mr D Child

Media Studies

Dr S Hill

Modern Foreign Languages

Miss C Leahy


Ms C Goodyear

Physical Education - GCSE

Mr J Bailey

Physical Education - Sports' fixtures enquiries

Mr D Brown


Dr J Champion

Product Design

Mr C Finch

Psychology and Sociology

Mrs J Carter-Owen

RE, Philossophy and Ethics

Mr A Cross


Mr D Brown

Textiles & Food Technology

Miss Bone

Other useful contacts:

Admissions Officer – Miss C Connolly

Examinations Officer - Mrs E Oakley

ICT support – Mr G Collins

Student Wellbeing – Mrs H Shering